30-day Paleo Challenge: Day 14

Well I’ve made it two weeks! Yippeeeee!! I have confession to make though. This last weekend I went to a potluck dinner party where tacos were the meal of choice. I brought lettuce (to use as taco shells), homemade guacamole, homemade plantain and sweet potato chips (I still need to perfect these…), and strawberries and sliced apples for dessert. I was EXTREMELY tempted by the homemade tortilla chips (chips and salsa are kryptonite for me), but the plantain and sweet potato chips kept the temptation at bay. Besides eating WAY too much, I also ate more than my allotted 3 daily servings of fruit. Like, a lot more. But I still stayed paleo, and I’m proud of that.

Last week I decided I needed to rein my challenge in a little more. I know this is probably not the best thing to do in the middle of a challenge like this. But I have noticed changes in my body, already in two weeks and I want to kick it up a notch. So here are the added rules:
-No nuts, seeds or dried fruit
-Limit fruit intake to two servings per day, preferably berries only
-Try not to eat within 3 hours of bedtime (this is tough)

Up to this point I have followed these rules:
-Stick to a paleo, Whole30 based plan
-No paleo-ized baked goods/sweets
-No added salt (as much as possible)
-No processed meats (meaning no lunchmeats, seasoned bacon, etc)
-No added sweeteners or sugar
-No cheat meals

My cravings were at bay for a better part of the first weeks except around day 11 or so. Pancake, brownie, cake, etc cravings kicked in full force by day 11, and it was torture. But I made it through without giving in!

I started this challenge because I really wanted to cut back on sweets. I have a huge sweet tooth. I am considering doing the 21-day sugar detox, but I want to see where this challenge spits me out. So far I know I have lost a few pounds, possibly water weight. And I’m feeling pretty good. No crashing in the afternoon. I want to continue this type of lifestyle after the challenge, as I have been eating mostly paleo since January. But I would like to reintroduce cheat meals once per week, and cut way back on baked sweets, and added sugars. Woot woot!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

